One of those weirdly surreal days

How do you react to being told that one of the UK’s top Tai Chi teams want you to join them *and* to compete as part of the team at the European Tai Chi Championships in Latvia in only a couple of months time?

I mean really? Whaaa?

My first emotion was one of excitement, but the shock soon set in! By the time I was halfway home my facial muscles had gone all slack, my eyes were wide in shocked disbelief and my mouth was gaping, I must have been a weird sight!

So, in my case the internal reaction seems to be.. ‘Whaa? Wooow! Really? Woah! I haven’t got my passport sorted yet!’

Quickly followed by… ‘I’ll need to take my wheelchair with me. I need the rest of the team to get their head round the reality of a Tai Chi competitor also needing a wheelchair some of the time even though they look ‘normal’ when they’re not using it. I hope they can get me a seat on the plane with plenty of leg-space. I wonder if the aeroplane people will lose the arm rests, maybe I should bungee them onto the wheelchair before they load it….’ etc etc. During which my fight or flight kicked in, because it does that over even the slightest raise in heart-rate (My fight-or-flight: “Your heart-rate has fractionally increased! Oh no, we’re all going to diiiieeeee”), and before I even reached home my autonomic flibbles meant that I also became rather nauseous. So I figured it was best to simply concentrate on careful breathing to calm my silly inner-wiring.

But the day was even more surreal than that, so instead of coming home and variously grinning and pondering my way through the afternoon, I instead had to come home and type up a potted medical history for the cardiologist who I was seeing that very afternoon.

Off to the hospital. Quick ECG as usual. Which was all fine and dandy, as usual.

The reason I’d been referred back to the cardio’s again was because my GP gave me a 24 hour ECG (called a ‘holter’ in some countries) and instead of my wiring saving the heart flippity-flappities for when I’m not all wired up and Borg-like it actually misbehaved at a time when it would be registered. But… instead of my heart going flippity-flappity it ‘paused’. For 46 seconds!

*sigh* Always something new, eh?! Ah well.

Anyway, the outcome from the appointment was that we really don’t know what my wiring is diddly-doing so I’m going to get called in to get set up with a 7-day ambulatory ECG sometime. Fortunately it should be before the European Tai Chi Championships. Yes, I checked! 😉

Just because the day is so darn weird anyway, why not do something out of the ordinary to be in-keeping with the theme?…

On my way out of the hospital I wandered past a clothes shop with ‘SALE’ in large, friendly letters ( 😉 ) and in the window was a dress that caught my eye. So I went in, tried it on, and blummin’ bought myself one. Yes, you read that right, I actually bought myself something that wasn’t ‘necessary’! It wasn’t supplements, or med’s, or compression stockings, it wasn’t even a Tai Chi seminar for extra physio’, it was a dress that I bought for myself simply because it’s pretty. Well it’s pretty *and* purple *and* paisley, so how could I resist?
dress from hospital
Though perhaps it says a lot about my life that I bought it inside a hospital! Hehe
 .
So, I’d been out of the house twice already that day – once to Tai Chi class (and the shocking news) and once to the hospital. But Tuesdays are called Totally Tubular Tuesdays in this house because I have two physio’ classes that day, yikes! I wasn’t sure if I’d make it to adaptive Kung Fu as well, but Wednesdays are always my rest and recovery day after my tough Tuesdays so yeah, I went anyway because I’m determined/stoopid (delete as appropriate)!
 .
It’s now been over a week since my teacher scored points for managing to render me speechless (not many people manage that! 😉 ). And the update is that the Championships have now been moved to the UK, so at least I don’t have a plane flight to deal with now, pheweee! That could have blown my pain right off the scale. It’s hard enough competing in the UK with my health conditions delivering their characteristic collection of aftermath problems, but at least I know what repercussions to expect from competing here.
 .
So I’m in ‘training’. Which actually means that when I have a Tai Chi class I practice with aims instead of ‘just’ practicing! Which I obviously need as I’ve been told that I had somehow turned one of the Chen style parts of the 42 form it into a “sexy salsa version”, oops! So yeah, plenty of work to be done whenever I can spare some physio’ time to practice! And what with the need to eat, wash etc there isn’t exactly oodles of physio’ time available to purloin, but you know I’ll do what I can, as always.
.
I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again…. never, ever. ever cap your potential. Live in the moment, enjoy the shiny bits, and don’t ever assume that ill health means that we will live in a perpetual metaphorical downpour forever more. There are always moments to make us smile, however small. I do feel lucky in some ways. I certainly feel lucky to have ended up with such an awesome teacher. But I know that the grit and determination of my paced exercise over the years is down to me, and without it I would not have got to the same level of beneficial effects from that pacing today. I can safely say though that physio-ing at something I actually enjoy takes far less determination to keep at it! 😉
.
Much love from the spaced-out blogger recovering from shock and cardiology! 😉
x
UPDATE:
The European Championships will now be held in the UK instead of Latvia. The change in venue has also meant a change in date as it will now be held in April 2015. Which means more time to get over the shock and to get some training in during my physio’s!
.
5 thoughts on “One of those weirdly surreal days

  1. Congratulations! And the dress is gorg – lovely colour 🙂 I’m pleased in a way the 24 hr ECG showed something up cos at least the doctor knows you’re not making the flippy flopping up!

    • I was so surprised! Those things usually happen any time other than when I’m wearing a monitor! I feel like I lucked out on that one, great stuff, so it’ll probably be back to the ‘nothing notable’ for the 7 day one of course! 😉

  2. Sales, clothes, retail therapy are as much important as other stuff, you know like I´ve said before, beauty is pain, CRPS is pain, so we must be very beautiful. And beautiful people need beautiful clothes 🙂
    And contgrats on the tai chi european tournament, we can soon call you an international athlete. And having that title and CRPS is of course amazing achievement 🙂
    You are amazing inspirational person and thanks for beeing you

What do you think of this post? Elle and the Auto Gnome welcome feedback, x

