What I did on my AWOL-idays

Goodness me, I’ve missed being here! But where did I go?

Last Spring a Tai Chi mag’ asked for articles and I offered to write one about how much Tai Chi has helped me with my health issues. The tricky part was that they didn’t reply until this Winter, and you know how much pain we’re in through Winter, right? Yeouch! So I had to concentrate on writing the article as I was having far less Brain Time to write. The trouble began when I was subsequently asked a few extra questions and instead of them being practical health questions they were more about my experience and motivations…. and then my brain fell out.

The end! Eek!

I still don’t have much brain, but that’s hardly surprising coz I’ve actually been doing rather a lot while I’ve been missing my blog.

In the UK we have a cliche of the homework title that we were all had to write for when we were young children at school: “What I did on my holidays”, but as I’ve been awol I guess it’s “What I did on my awolidays”. Here’s what’s happened since I last got to write to you…

I spent a lot of time creating a CRPS FAQ for a support group that I admin’ in, and yes – it is to be uploaded here too. Most of it is now transferred to the weblog so I’ll be able to post it here soon, x

My beloved car, my companion for 7.5 years, started to keel over and I had to part with him. The Magic Dude and I have bought another but it’s not the saaaaaame!

I had lots of dentist appointments after losing an old crown from a molar tooth.

I had a haircut. That counts as ‘news’, right?! 😉

I finally got to go to a graduation ceremony for my MSc that I completed with my own CRPS research last year. The Open University do a good graduation ceremony 😀
P.S. I wore high heels across the stage… take that CRPS! Mwoohaaahaaa! Of course my wheelchair was nearby for the rest of the day, but, y’know, rawr!

I finally got to go and visit Stone Henge. Woot! As I now live on the south coast of the UK it wasn’t that far to travel and the wheelchair allowed ambling around the visitor centre and going for a cup of tea afterwards too.

Stone Henge

I went to see Giant Steve 2 at the cinema! (That’s Captain America 2, of course 😉 ). Although it was on the same day as the trip to Stone Henge (what was I thinking? Doh!) so I spent the whole time trying not to pass out!

Near-syncope at cinema

Not doing a very good job at guarding Magic Dude’s popcorn, eh?!

I finally got to start the salt tablets to see if they’d help the near-syncope at all as it’s been getting worse all year so far (more on that to come in a later post).

Lots and lots and lots of Tai Chi practice during physio’-time and in-my-head practice to strengthen those neural Tai-Chi-ing connections when I was able to do so. This was in preparation for one local and two national tournaments.

All sorts of doctors appointments for blood tests, blood pressure monitors, discussion after I ended up in Accident & Emergency (ER) one day and chasing up a nightmare referral to a local cardiologist (which still isn’t sorted). So you know, the usual!

I taught my first class of Tai Chi! Wow! My teacher was unavailable for a week so the two classes that I usually attend anyway as part of my physio’ became ones where I physio’d by teaching instead. Cor, who’d have thought eh? 🙂

I found that I have had so very horrifyingly little Brain Time that I turned to gaming in the last few weeks of the run-up to the last national tournament to let my brain and body wind down together. Magic Dude has had to replace his old laptop and he’s now got a sparkly newfangled one so we decided to finally try out the online Lord of the Rings game. 😀

I went to a concert – Seasick Steve, and he was aaaawesoooome! It was stoopid timing with the tournament stuff, but he really was ace and I really am stubborn!

Concert, Seasick Steve

I’ve spent the last few days away as poor ole Magic Dude hasn’t had any time off work for so many months (except to drive me to and from appointments and the tournaments) and I’ve been struggling with pain and near-syncope highs of 9s for many weeks now. So we got away, we saw Things, and we did Stuff.

And, in true ill-person style, I am now trying to recover from the few days that we spent away!

And now I’m back and have a huuuuge amount of things I want to do and there’s never enough time to do it all in. At least, there’s never enough time where my brain is working well enough and my pain levels are low enough to do all of the things I want to do, but you know I’ll try anyway!

More to come soon,

Hellos and hugs and bestest wishes from me,

x

What do you think of this post? Elle and the Auto Gnome welcome feedback, x

