Something I didn’t think I could do…

For the photo challenge today…

I wasn’t entirely sure if I’d make it through my studies without the health getting impossible, but if I didn’t think that there was a chance of success then I wouldn’t have embarked upon that final module. So I have to think of something that I genuinely thought that I couldn’t do, which is nigh on impossible for me because I am one of those people who doesn’t believe in capping potential… who knows what we can achieve in the future? The last thing I’m gonna do is assume that I can never do things because then I’ll never try, and that’ll make it true whether it could have happened or not. So there is nothing that I think I can never do. Instead I work within my current health restrictions doing what I can and I enjoy the ride.

I enjoy the ride because living in the present is joyous. Okay yes, so there’s pain and crawling along the floor with my head spinning and such like, but there are also cups of tea, hot water bottles, sunsets that I can see through the window and much more. Why worry about my future? That’s not going to help me right now. Don’t get me wrong do I plan for my future, I just don’t allow myself to worry about it. I could worry about my health deteriorating, but even if I knew for sure worrying would only make the present feel worse. The thing with CRPS is that it is changeable. Change is built into the very fabric of how the condition works. And change can go either way: so some of my symptoms might improve. My pain management is in a whole different world to where it was years ago. My pain and my condition continues, but the way the pain and I dance around one another is more patterned than it used to be, we have a kind of truce. Neither of us is backing down, but there’s an ‘agreement’ of sorts! It allows me to plan for some activities and events that I could not have done in the past. I will pay for it in pain levels, but I plan for that too.

So who knows what we can accomplish in the future? And if that’s the case, why not start now? Losing old patterns of living, active abilities, friends who can’t handle the changes… well, after getting over the initial crapola that creates we then start to think things like… “What is really important to me?”, “What can I do for me that gives my life smiles and personal value?”, “What can I try that might help distract myself from the pain a little bit?”. And that’s when we discover a new feel to life and start creating our own new pattern. Some of us rediscover lost skills or hobbies and some of us discover new ones.

So when asked for a picture of something I did not think I could do, I just don’t think that way. For me it’s about something I did that I never knew I would do, with the emphasis on the not knowing it was in my future rather than not believing it was.

When we start creating our own new way of living within our current (but potentially changeable) conditions of living, it is a process of exploration and discovery. When I started new things (like this blog) I always said that I don’t know where it will take me but it will be interesting following the path and finding out. And the blog has taken me down paths I didn’t know were in my future. (You can see the blog for yourself though, so I guess a piccy of that would be a let down)!

When I was at a physical low a couple of years ago, I had to stop doing my twice weekly physio’ sessions at the gym because the Dysautonomia had become a real problem with trying not to pass out and/or throw up whenever I tried to exercise, and I felt really down about it. I handled it well for the first few months even though I knew I’d have a lot of ground to regain, but after two years it was a real concern that I could not get the physio’ that my legs required to keep to the delicate balance of activity and rest that affects pain levels. To my regular readers – please excuse me for mentioning my beloved Tai Chi again (;-) !) but for those who don’t know… Tai Chi is what I started doing in a slow-mo attempt to get my body doing some different activity twice a week. What I hoped was that it would help me get back to the gym and what I found was that I really enjoyed learning it so I knew that when I got back to the gym I was not going to give up the Tai Chi. That was it, though, the extent of my expectations! I just wanted to learn more Tai Chi and improve over the years. I knew that it would be a very handy health tool for my crinkly years if I could keep it up for the rest of my life, so that was the plan.

Instead, as regular readers will know, it took me down a whooooole different path!

Tai Chi Chinese New Year 2013

I still cannot get back to the gym, but the Tai Chi (thanks to my awesome teacher who saw and nurtured my potential, encouraging me every step of the way) led me to perform at a Chinese new year celebration wearing Professor Li‘s purple silks (passed down from him to student, to student’s student, then loaned to me 🙂 ). ‘Thanks’ to my CRPS journey I’m now pretty good at living in the moment which helps to keep the stress levels down (which helps calm the Dys’ symptoms). From my teacher’s point of view I demonstrated that I performed well under pressure, whereas from my point of view there was no real pressure from an audience coz the bigger problem was keeping my symptoms under some semblance of control! So really I demonstrated that I know how best to work around my condition to get a few minutes of apparently able-bodied performance! Because of this, my teacher took me to my first national tournament (ladies beginners class) where I shocked myself completely by winning gold. Then she took me to a different national tournament a couple of months later (this time a bigger classification group as all men and women were competing against each other) and I amazed myself by winning another gold. It opened my eyes to potential that I didn’t know I had. It’s been the most unbelievable year in the most literal sense because I still have trouble believing that all this really just happened to me!

That’s the thing about potential, it lurks sneakily just off to one side and it has no visible limits, It’s the exciting unknown, and the key is to travel the path enjoying each new achievement along the way because wherever those limits may be.. a) limits can be tested and we can improve, and b) aaaall achievements along the way are to be celebrated.

x

2 thoughts on “Something I didn’t think I could do…

  1. Pingback: Joyful moments from 2013 | Elle and the Auto Gnome

What do you think of this post? Elle and the Auto Gnome welcome feedback, x

