An inspiring friend

Today’s photo challenge is to share with you someone who inspires me when the going gets tough. Living online as well as off it has allowed me the wonderful opportunity to meet people I could never have met otherwise. The number of phenomenally inspiring people that I have the good fortune to know has risen rather sharply these past few years. 🙂

Today I have chosen to mention one in particular. Oceans separate us but we feel as if we have known each other for many years already. One of those friendships where you just ‘get’ one another, where each time we speak it’s like no time has passed, and yet the time between speaking still twangs at the heartstrings. We met courtesy of one of our health conditions, CRPS, so it’s been pretty darn good for something eh?! 😉 We had overlapping friends and ended up being admin’s in the same support group. Some of the admin’s decided to get together in a Skype chat, and that pretty much sealed the deal then and there! Seeing and hearing friends for the first time who have been loving and supporting one another but had never actually met in the 3D world was emotional, but in a good way. There were smiles and tears at the same time. The love, the understanding, the wicked senses of humour, all together in my laptop, right in front of me! It was a turning point for our understanding of friendships up to that point. 🙂 (You’ve met one of these awesome ladies in one of my earlier posts).

They’re my sisters, not by blood but by heart, and there are other friends who I would love to draw into this warm friendship group because their insight, their hearts and their humour would fit in so well. Ahhh, happiness!

Well anyway, there’s this one gal, right? She’s called Lili. She has a big bit of my heart that she’s settled into, and she’s there to stay. She’s ridden the rollercoaster ride of multiple severe health conditions her entire life. And despite the extremes she has had to go through she hasn’t lost her big warm heart, or her deep love and concern for others of any species.

Recently the lovely Lili started a weblog for her book which is in progress. With severe allergies her amassed knowledge of alternatives to chemical medications and anything else that could possibly have allergens in it, from foodstuffs to washing soaps is, quite frankly, phenomenal. Much of it is there in her head for instant retrieval because it is such a part of everyday life. I cannot begin to describe how pleased I am that this book of information and alternative treatments for chronic pain is in progress. Lili’s understanding of chronic health issues from pain to immune issues and beyond is so very valuable, and I am glad that the book will be available in the future for us fellow patients to dip into for insights that can help us.

(I keep saying that I want a signed copy, it’s my ‘excuse’ to meet the author in the 3D world! 😉 )

Whilst the book is in progress Lili is writing a blog alongside it with information, insights, tips and more. The style of writing is easy on the brain and the author very quickly becomes familiar to the reader by her style and trust me – that’s her shining through. There’s nothing contrived about this gal!

So here she is, the one, the only….. Lili …(and a very cute baby goat)…

???????????????????????????????

You can find Lili’s blog here: The Taming of the Beast, and the piccy is from this blog post.

2 thoughts on “An inspiring friend

  1. Gwarsh! Fanks, bestie, darlin’! You make me blush! It’s funny that I wanted to post about you, and about a few of the other dear ones you mention… I love you, too, and admire you so much. You do keep me going, especially with your ability to stay positive and sunny… I have to fight my eyeore side sometimes and you inspire me even more to just do it (goldarnit!) when you are there shining away… ❤

What do you think of this post? Elle and the Auto Gnome welcome feedback, x

