I like to be useful!

I’ve had a huge spike in blog visitors over the last few days and the popular post getting viewed a lot has been my representation of the McGill Pain Scale. My version is unusual because I’ve added an additional figure onto the scale – that of Fibromyalgia. It’s not a figure that we usually come across, and I found the information in one research paper which means that it’s a ball-park figure (only one sample group from one piece of research) but can still be helpful to some patients to share with others as many people still incorrectly think of Fibro’ as some sort of psychosomatic condition. It’s not. At all. There is plenty of scientific evidence to show to any doubters, but sometimes being able to show a quick piccy of the pain scale to demonstrate that the pain is scientifically ‘real’ can be a speedy and simple way to help someone to re-jig their understanding and treat Fibro’ patients with more thought.

The post is by far the most popular one to date (it includes CRPS as well). I am so pleased that fellow patients out there are finding it helpful. That is why I started this weblog in the first place, to share information and be as helpful as I can from my spot on the sofa with my laptop and my occasional brain!

I didn’t realise that a link to the post had been included on the Fibromyalgia News website, though. Not until yesterday, that is. Wow! Thank-you. That is good feedback suggesting that I’m on the right tracks and am managing to be useful. Exactly what I hoped I could do. 😀

There’s lots more to write about still, I shall keep on writing for as long as I can still be useful. Big hugs to you all, x

2013-10-27, Fibromyalgia news

2013-10-27, Fibro news

What do you think of this post? Elle and the Auto Gnome welcome feedback, x

