Burning feet, orthotics, sandals and some magic!

The CRPS makes my feet burrrrn! It starts at my toes and works it’s way up the foot, (usually both feet but the right foot is worse). For a short and bemusing while my feet decided to burn at the big toe and travel up the inside of my foot instead of the usual burning on all toes and travelling up the whole foot. This is a pic’ of my feet being confused and doing the big toe only version on my left foot but burning a few more toes on my right foot!..

Burny feet, unusual

Don’t know what that phase was all about, it’s gone back to it’s usual burning behaviours again now!

If my feet are covered that sets them off and so does friction, so for most of the year I cannot wear any socks or boots. (Sadness as I loved wearing my biker style boots even with floaty summer dresses). I even have trouble wearing light shoes when the weather gets warmer, which not a massive problem in the UK admittedly 😉 , but I want to be able to enjoy any rare glorious weather and get outdoors to do some physio’ walks in the sunshine when it occurs. But the screamy-burning is more than offputting, it’s unbearable.

My problem is that I can’t walk in anything without my orthotics (sculpted insoles to support my high arches, lots of pain in my knees without them), so sunny weather footwear has not been an option for years as the insoles have nothing to sit in. I have to wear shoes and burrrrn! Nooooo!

Last year I made a discovery which I thought I’d try out and see how it goes. I can quite happily say that it’s changed my life! But it turns out that lots of other people knew about this wondrousness already. How did I not know about it?!

Anyway, I should have guessed really. The answer is velcro, hehe 😉

Just like the answer to stopping laptops from falling on our heads, the answer to wearing orthotics in sandals is also good old velcro.

Of course our usual orthotics are pretty thick and obvious, but there are now thinner versions out there which come complete with velcro attachment for the sandal of our choice! I’m lucky that the most supportive off-the-peg ones do the trick for me. I went into a shop which claims to be orthopaedic.. okay, so it’s a shop, but they employ orthopaedics on site where you can have appointments too (yes, in a shoe shop!). I don’t know how good they are but for choosing what works for me it was brilliant. And the ranges of shoes/sandals etc specifically leaned toward the orthopaedic end of the scale – lots of cushioned and supportive footwear in there.

So I crossed my fingers, opened my wallet and hoped it would be worth spending the money. The value was massive. I had got myself a sensible pair of walking sandals and a pair of thin velcro orthotics to allow me to walk in them. I tried them during different physio’s and it took a while to get the best placement of the orthotics but they worked a treat. I was so gleeful to be able to walk in the sunshine without the crippling burning which would make me try and walk in my shoes without my toes touching the shoes, toes all curled in and me walking in a terribly painful manner. Problem solved. I felt like I had a spring in my step, it was wooonderful!

You can see how thin the orthotics are here (not in their best placement in this piccy, though)

You can see how thin the orthotics are here (not in their best placement in this piccy, though)

Once I knew it worked I wanted pwetty ones as well! But cheap ones, purlease! So I discovered these cuties in a sale….

And yes I took this piccy whilst lying down, that *is* the ceiling you can see!

And yes I took this piccy whilst lying down, that *is* the ceiling you can see!

As the velcro that came with the orthotics had already been stuck into my other sandals I just bought a short length online and stuck that in the new pair. Then the other half of the original velcro already stuck to the orthotics would happily stick in either pair of sandals.

When I was next able to physio’ I spent a lot of time looking downwards in glee!

Sandals, looking down alot!

Admittedly this sandal-wearing lark means that I get some funny looks from friends when they notice my purple or grey feet at times when the blood is pooling (good ole Dysautonomia, eh?!), but oh well. Tis a topic for conversation mayhap?! 😉 My feet are happy! 😀

x

5 thoughts on “Burning feet, orthotics, sandals and some magic!

  1. cute shoes! i get the burning, too, although mine is most often in my left foot and left hand. like you, i can’t wear socks during the summer – i’m fortunate enough that it doesn’t get horribly hot here in southern california in the USA, but warm enough that it makes the burning in my feet worse. so i wear sandals and let everyone stare at my purplish feet, too 🙂

    love the pic of your feet and the ceiling 🙂

  2. I can so relate to you, I wore nothing but Jandals for 5 years, even in the middle of winter and hated it because they looked o casual, then I discovered orthotic jandals and sandals in the chemist and loved it. I can now wear converse shoes in the winter without burning up to much 🙂

  3. Yes, love me some airy sandals too. Used to wear clunk boots, like hiking boots, now can’t stand ANYTHING on my feet in warmer months. I use Darco APB (all purpose boot) on both feet during winter and haven’t yet found anything else I can tolerate. I bought some similar orthotics to replace my big AFO type orthotics which are TOO HOT but couldn’t keep them in. Who woulda thunk? VELCRO! You’re a genius!

What do you think of this post? Elle and the Auto Gnome welcome feedback, x

