Photo Challenge for CRPS Awareness, Day 23

A Day In My Life Photo Challenge for 30 Days Of RSD/CRPS Awareness, June 2013

Day 23 – A picture of awareness/creativity

.

Creativity is a great way to focus my mind away from pain and other symptoms. Awareness is both a different ball-game and the same ball-game depending on how I look at it…

Awareness of the joy in creativity, and of it’s use as both a distraction tool and as an uplifting tool is great. But the bigger awareness of who we are, and how we are still ourselves despite the changes in our lives, well that’s the shiny. 😀  As I said in a recent post, I decided to be as me as I want to be. Yeah so I’m chronically ill and I can’t do the stuff I used to do, but that makes me no less me. That was about what I did, this is about who I am – I can still be in the world, live my life, love all of the amazing people I have met in the world and online, share thoughts, share laughter, I can still be creative even though I can no longer do pottery, and even though painting is such a mega pain fest to do too often. I can be creative in my head, in silly conversations, on the laptop when I’m up to it, and even the occasional silly sketch for the blog.

Yep. My awareness that floats me onwards through life is that I have my world, my life, my skills, my love… all that I choose to do and all that I choose to be is in my hands. And although what I can do is restricted, that’s okay. It doesn’t stop me from finding ways to express my ‘me’. It doesn’t stop me from being who I am.

So here’s a pic’ that was taken during a Tai Chi-ish moment in the British Natural History Museum in London. For me it was a creative moment, but it also says so much more to my heart.

Tai Chi holding planet earth, the world

Being true to myself is about who I am on the inside, what I think about, what I feel, how I express myself, who I share my thoughts with, how I still try to be there for others. The question of whether I can still milk a cow, or do an accidental wheelie in a little Massey Ferguson tractor, or do a cartwheel down a quiet aisle in a supermarket is nothing to do with who I actually am. I did that stuff, they are expressions of who I am, and the memories make me smile, cool eh? Now, onwards… I’m creating new memories to add to the old… tea with a beloved friend, a silly conversation, a physio’ class I enjoy, some handy research shared with fellow patients that helped somebody out, a silly pic taken at the Natural History Museum the day before seeing a consultant….

My own personal world is in my hands, and it shines 😀

x

3 thoughts on “Photo Challenge for CRPS Awareness, Day 23

What do you think of this post? Elle and the Auto Gnome welcome feedback, x

