Photo Challenge for CRPS Awareness, Day 04

A Day In My Life Photo Challenge for 30 Days Of RSD/CRPS Awareness, June 2013

Day 04 – A picture/video of your favorite song that helps you get by

Ry Cooder

My go-to song for calming the nervous system is Ry Cooder’s version of ‘Dark is the Night’. It’s a slow acoustic blues with some gorrrrgeous slides in it (yum)! In fact, that was what I was playing before performing at the Tai Chi tournament on Sunday because I didn’t want slight nervousness to become wildly exaggerated by my faulty ANS as then I’d wobble on my legs, my hands would shake, I’d get light-headed and woozy, and I’d produce a much lower standard performance as a result.

It worked, too! From now on – blues before a performance 😀

It’s not available on You Tube to share (or at least, it’s not available in my country according to You Tube so I don’t know where it is or isn’t available), there’s some covers, but I love Ry’s version so much that they’re just not the same 🙂

Ry Cooder and Vishwa Mohan Bhatt

It’s all over so quickly though and, unless I want to keep playing it on a loop (which I did for a while on Sunday!), I love a bit of Ry Cooder on blues guitar playing ‘Ganges Delta Blues’ with Vishwa Mohan Bhatt on sitar. Scrumminess for my ears and soothing for my nervous system, perfick!

blues guitar

And if I need a joyous lift? Well, as I am getting more noise sensitive as time goes on I can’t turn to my rock and metal the way I used to. Oh, and the fact that the house has walls so thin that us neighbours here can here each other cough, sneeze, laugh etc so driving them barmy with metal didn’t seem too wise anyway 😉 So how about some Florence?…

x

What do you think of this post? Elle and the Auto Gnome welcome feedback, x

