The necessary addition of a ‘Mary Poppins’ or ‘TARDIS’ bag

Every parent knows that the moment you have kids the cute little handbags are out, and the big bags of spare clothes and nappies are in! A few years ago I discovered that health issues can initiate a similar bag-and-supplies transition!

Mary Poppins had a bag that seemed to have everything you could possibly need within it, and Dr Who is renowned for their bigger-on-the-inside science which they liberally apply to their mode of transport and pockets!

A girl still needs a bag change from time to time, though, so I have just shelved my black shoulder bag (covered in badges) in favour of a purple satchelly type bag that I found in a second hand store. I like a good bargain, and I agree with Elder Niece that purple is pretty cool, too!

In my bag at the moment there are the following…

Painkillers

Anti-inflammatories (though I take them as little as possible as I was advised against long-term use)

IBS pills

A plastic jar of crystallised ginger (for the nausea)

A pair of knee supports (to be avoided unless I’m desperate as wearing them regularly would defeat the whole point of my physio’s, but if I can’t get back to the car then at least they are on hand)

A fold up walking stick (with a pretty Florentine scrolling pattern on it)

Dextrose tablets (which don’t really get used any more but are there out of habit. I was found to have a tendency to blood-sugar lows about seven years ago, but for the last few years the dextrose hasn’t helped. I eventually found out that the similar experience of brainless-spacey-sicky-fainty was actually a now much more common me-event of neurologically mediated near-fainting)

So, before I go out for any length of time I also fill a flask with weak lemon squash and add that to the Mary Poppins / TARDISlike bag as well! Recently I have started getting neurological teeth pain, and warm drinks don’t set it off as badly, so I opt for warmish fluid intakes now. If I’m attempting a walk somewhere pretty with Magic Dude on his day off, I might pretend that I’m some sort of ‘normal’ (hehe) and fill a travel mug with a nice cup of tea. Like I’m adventuring into the Great Outdoors on my day off from a busy working life in the City, or something, har! I wish!

Oh yes, and my asthma inhaler which I practically never use since my dysautonomia decided that hyperventilation was a great new default practice. My lungs have plenty of oxygen in them these days! Shame it has trouble getting to the rest of my body, but that’s another story!

Of course the car is the place to store additional assistance… wheelchair or crutches if they might be required, migraine patches and sprays, a warm blanket to keep the legs pain down, but the everyday items are in my bag.

I don’t skip around singing about how a spoonful of sugar helps my truckload of meds and supplements go down, so I don’t think my bag happens to be a Mary Poppins bag, although I know people who have them, and one person who had a Mary Poppins drawer at work.

I’m a bit of a geek, and a bit of a sci-fi girl, so a TARDIS bag suits me down to the ground. Not sure where the purple fits in, perhaps that’s part of my ‘thing’, all the regenerations of Dr Who and each of his companions have a thing, something peculiar to to them, like the Dr Who’s who gleefully proffered jelly babies, carried an umbrella or favoured a bunch of celery as a jacket adornment. Their approach seems to be this… if I state the cool-value with enough certainty, perhaps it’ll become true…? And if it doesn’t, I’m quite happy being considered eccentric! So…

“I carry a purple medical TARDIS bag now, big medical bags are cool.”

Did it work? 😉

x

.

8 thoughts on “The necessary addition of a ‘Mary Poppins’ or ‘TARDIS’ bag

  1. Damn skippy it worked! I have a TARDIS bag too, but that’s just cos I read books big enough to choke a rhino! Purple’s ace! 🙂

  2. lol Purple is my favorite color!! I carry a big bag as well!! Always have to have things on hand that I may need! And my car looks like I live in it lol 😀 I actually just saw a physical therapist and was prescribed a rolling walker with a seat! Yay I have a chair wherever I go now!! lol So that has to go in there now too! 😀 Hope you’re doing well Elle!!! 😀 XOXOX

  3. Works for me! And making a Tardis purple is the only possible way to improve one.

    When we were choosing our favorite cartoon character, I chose Felix the Cat, partly cuz cats are cool, but mainly because when I was wee, I was permanently entranced by his Bag of Tricks. Now I covet a Tardis like a mad thing. How we grow up! LOL

  4. My family have long called al of my bags ‘Mary Poppins bags’ due to the seemingly never ending amount of meds etc I also carry.
    The problem is no on yet has come up with a solution to carrying the damn things, more & more I’m sloping downwards with my right shoulder so my bag is forever slipping down my arm; carrying it on the left is a no go for pain and total lack of coordination, same for a backpack
    Suggestions welcome x

    • Hmmm, yes, that is tricky. We don’t necessarily want to go down the route of old lady style wheeled bags just yet! Perhaps we should start a comeback of the (UK named) bum bag/ (USA named) fanny pack! Or perhaps we could design little R2D2 style helpers to follow us around? Or, perhaps a little more accessible, head out with a friend who has a dog and give the canine a ‘helper’ job to do with one of those doggy backpacks with pockets! Oooh, we’d love to get a dog one day, there’s another good reason we can add to the list of why it would be a good idea 😉 (My boyfriend has long suggested a ‘helper monkey’ to make me tea and hot water bottles, but I think a helper doggie is a little more viable)!

      If anyone has any other suggestions please post them here, 🙂 xx

  5. I’ve got one too! Both my kids are athletes and we take many, many road trips for their competitions. Traveling with me is worse than traveling with a toddler! I’ve got a change of socks, sometimes even a change of shoes! I ‘ve got finger less gloves, meds, glasses, a blanket and sometimes even a pillow! I almost always have water and something simple to eat, as well. Digestion big issue for this gal, too! My issue is I have a port so transporting this bag can be tricky. A helping dog sounds divine. I did read an article about a girl with RSD who has a helping dog. He can apparently help to predict her flare ups too, sensing when her pain is increasing. Pretty amazing stuff. I am hoping someday for the future of younger RSD patients that Helping Dogs are a given for RSD folks. Never heard of Tardis, but I am one heck of a googler!
    ❤ To you.

    • Hiya Hope, don’t know how you do so much travelling. You are a super-mum for sure! Oh yes, I’m with ya on the change of shoes, too! Did I forget to mention the eye drops in there, too?! Hehe, our bags must be bigger on the inside to hold all that lot!
      Ooh, we’d love to get a dawg, but we have no garden here and the house is so tiny. But one day….! And when we do maybe I’ll try the doggy back-pack thing to get him/her involved 😉 A helper dog would be wooonderful!
      Tee hee, I guess I’m drawing readers in to my little geeky world with my mention of the TARDIS, then! (stands for: Time And Relative Dimension In Space… and is Dr. Who’s mode of transport 😉 ) Nerdy me! But I grew up with Dr. Who being on the telly so it just seems normal to me!
      Big hugs to you Hope, lovely to ‘see’ you, xoxox

What do you think of this post? Elle and the Auto Gnome welcome feedback, x

