Awareness ribbon prettification

Hello all, I think I might be having a girlie day today! Knowing that the awareness ribbons for CRPS and Dysautonomia are orange and (dark) blue respectively, and bearing in mind that my body is one helluva complicated set of inter-related issues, I wondered to myself… how many of those awareness ribbons would apply to me?! If I scroll down the list of health issues they represent, could I cover my blog post in girlie ribbons? 😉

Orange for CRPS / RSD

Dark blue for Dysautonomia (Autonomic Dysfunction)

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Most awareness ribbons have several causes to each colour. Apparently the blue one covers a few for me as it is also listed as representing Restless Leg Syndome and Chronic Fatigue Sydrome. Neither of which I’ve been officially diagnosed with, mind you, they are a couple of those related aspects that I live with and have discussed with the doctor but it hasn’t ended up officially in my notes, (as far as I’m aware).

Another questionmark condition for me is Fibromyalgia. If I end up diagnosed with that one I will get to add a lovely purple ribbon to my collection. 😉

So anyway, I searched a couple of, hopefully, more reliable awareness ribbon lists (you know how these lists can vary from each other from time to time!) and this is the pwettiness I divined from them…. 😉

Burgundy for disabled adults

Grey for asthma

Green for mitochondrial disease

White for invisible illness

A funky zebra pattern for rare diseases. Kinda grabs the attention, eh? 😉

Gold and silver for tinnitus

White lace for osteoporosis

Periwinkle for Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS)

Light blue for chronic illness

Silver for brain disorders and neurological disabilities

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

One of the lists even noted a Teal ribbon as referring to knee injury awareness… blimey, that’s specific! The other site didn’t back this up, but it’s a lovely colour!

So there you go, prettification of my blog with girlie ribbons. That’s enough ribbons to be going on with, methinks, hehe

Love and hugs to you all, x

4 thoughts on “Awareness ribbon prettification

  1. Do you know why rare diseases are represented by the zebra pattern? You’ll love it.

    Medical students tend to read symptoms dramatically and come up with exotic diagnoses for mild or common issues. So, when they’re assembling data and mulling diagnoses, they’re told, “When you hear hooves, think Horse (something usual), not Zebra (something rare.)”

    Generally it’s good advice, but it can certainly delay treatment for the genuine zebras!

  2. Pingback: Awareness ribbons | Elle and the Auto Gnome

What do you think of this post? Elle and the Auto Gnome welcome feedback, x

