Studying with a temperamental brain

Yes, I really am still here! I’m sorry for the hiatus, I’ve been buried in my books, research papers, research journal, notebook ramblings, various search engines and ohhh the list goes on! My poor ickle brain 😉

I have been wanting to write a post or three, but until I have the next deadline out of the way then I can only do so in the cheeky odd moment here and there. I love writing for the blog, so it’s quite tricky to be tough on myself and crack the hypothetical study whip when I’d rather be writing to you lovely people. The result was that I argued with myself that creating a new page of useful links for you was perfectly acceptable time to daringly spend away from the books! 😉

So I snuck off earlier and created the new page. There are some links in the ‘blogroll’, (in the sidebar on the Home page), but I suspect that they don’t always get discovered. Which is a shame because I reckon a lot of people would find them rather handy. So, to try and make them easier to find, I’ve created the page so that you can click on it from the main menu on the Home page of the blog. So far it’s a few main websites, but I will add to them over time as I find other helpful sites, (and as and when I steal a bit of time from the studies!).

I only have so much working-brain-time so I don’t actually have that much of the day that I can study in, (which ramps up the pressure somewhat, and renders me pretty useless for the non-study hours, too). And the more I make my brain work, the harder it gets to convince it to work properly. So the new tactic is to study for an hour, tops, and then rest for two, or even three hours, doing simple stuff. It doesn’t allow me much time to get my studying done, and I’ve got a deadline looming in the not-too-distant future, so I’m dangling the carrots of tea and ‘Castleville’ (about all my brain seems to be up to in between study sprints!) to keep me plodding onwards!

 

Don’t for a moment think that this studying lark is a drag, though. It’s not. I love it. It’s great to be doing something progressive for myself, of course, but it’s also phenomenally motivating to be studying with the aim of helping others and of broadening research knowledge available out there in the ether. It’s exciting to be making a mark that is useful, it’s thrilling to be using my brain and putting it to good use, and it’s a lovely feeling to get to write about things that I’m interested in. Structuring information, arguments and pointing out a big hole in the research ‘state of the art’ and then to getting the opportunity to trundle on in to attempt to shed some light on that gap in the knowledge base. Waffling much?! Yes, I absolutely love getting stuck into research that I really care about.

But I’m going off on a happy little blog-writing tangent and ignoring the open book next to me with all those indecipherable notes in the margins looking at me and waiting for my attention once more.

Aw, Magic Dude has brought me tea. I should stop writing so that I can recover for the next leg of the brain dance. Hope you’re all doing okay, much love and enthusiastic waffle from me!

x

4 thoughts on “Studying with a temperamental brain

    • Coming from a writer, that’s one helluva compliment. Not sure that I deserve it, though! If only I had more blog time at the moment, good thing I love writing here coz it’s so much easier to juggle when it’s things that I love doing 🙂 xx

  1. “…with the aim of helping others and of broadening research knowledge available out there in the ether. It’s exciting to be making a mark that is useful, it’s thrilling to be using my brain and putting it to good use, and it’s a lovely feeling to get to write about things that I’m interested in.”

    Yeah. 🙂 Thrilled for you. Also hugely impressed at how you make it work. Rock on! xo

    • Hehe, ideal advice for a (predominantly) rock chick! 😉 Thanks Isy, that means a lot. I’m just one person and of course I’m not alone out here in trying to be useful to my fellow patients, I love your blogs and the way you present complex information so accessibly. I reckon that lots of people appreciate your fantastic translations of complicated and knotty medical concepts, so I’ve included one of your blogs amongst the first weblinks on my new ‘useful links’ page. It’s only a few basic sites so far, but yours is just soooo good it needed to be amongst the first websites to be mentioned. You are a shining star to your fellow patients, thanks for being blummin’ amazing, x 😀

What do you think of this post? Elle and the Auto Gnome welcome feedback, x

