A productive day (and I know where my towel is)!

This morning I looked in the mirror and for once I did not notice the dark circles under my eyes in quite the same way that I usually do. I did not look at myself and have one of those moments where all of the stuff that you’re trying to contend with whizzes through your head in quick succession culminating in a big “Okay then, let’s get on with it” kinda sigh!

No, this morning was all about practicalities. Get downstairs and eat breakfast, rest my legs on the sofa to lessen the pain for a while. Then get ready for my Tai Chi class that doubles up as physio’ for me. That’s when I looked in the mirror. In ‘do-stuff’ mode. Just cover up the dark circles with some magic under-eye make-up and get ready to roll.

I had so much to do today. Or, more accurately, I had a lot to do by my standards!

I had a Tai Chi class to get to, in which I wanted to function as best I could, then I had to get home again (stuck in traffic for a while, ooh that doesn’t help the pain levels), get the laptop switched straight on and set up on my ‘laidback’ laptop stand that I can use on the bed. I had a study deadline to meet today, you see. And so, rather than dwelling on life, the universe and everything, my brain was preoccupied with the two tasks I had set myself today. Tai Chi and emailing off my work for my first study deadline of the year.

Plus the idea in the back of my head that I wanted to write a blog post today, because it is ‘Towel Day’ after all!

Yes, you read that correctly, it is indeed ‘Towel Day’! Those of you who are Douglas Adams fans will be nodding your heads already, of course. And perhaps our numbers have grown a little since the ‘Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy’ film release, who knows? (I was raised with the original TV version before I discovered the book. Good old Slartibartfast.  😉 ). There must be a fair few people around the world now who are aware that the answer to ‘life, the universe and everything’ is actually, er, 42!

And on this day, all those hoopy froods reeaally know where their towels are at. 😉

So, yes, all in all in a good day. A productive day. A painful legs day but not so much of a near-fainty day, despite the heat. Next time I look in the mirror I hope to espy a little satisfaction there. Some days we come out on top and fighting.

x

What do you think of this post? Elle and the Auto Gnome welcome feedback, x

