My theme tune

Despite spending the majority of time on my own it’s not actually a quiet life. If you were in the house with me you’d probably not know I was there, except for the occasional conversation with myself and the sound of the kettle going on! But in my head there is music playing a lot of the time. And when there isn’t music there is incessant jibberjabber, thoughts parading round my head, problems to be solved, ideas of things to do and to write about. It’s very busy in my head, and definitely not quiet!

With all this hubbub and music I should probably stretch to having my own theme tune. I wonder what that would be?

If it was a theme tune for the CRPS I reckon it’d be a proper old-style blues track….

.

.                   …DAAH…

.                                                                                ..DA…

Da…                                       …DAH…                                                ..da….

.

I woke up this morning….

.

.                   …DAAH…

.                                                                                ..DA…

Da…                                       …DAH…                                                ..da….

.

Still got CRPS….

.

.                   …DAAH…

.                                                                                ..DA…

Da…                                       …DAH…                                                ..da….

.

I’ve run out of teabags,

And the RAAAIIIN is coming down…..WOOAAAH yeeaaahhh…!

.

It’s not unusual for me to start singing the blues riff because I quite often hear the words ‘I woke up this morning…’ come out of my mouth, and the blues riff is the natural follow on! Which then results in barely awake Magic Dude listening amusedly to an impromptu made-up song about whatever it was I was going to tell him!

.

If I was going to pick a theme tune for the Dysautonomia it’d have to be something that fits in with my brain fog. Something where everything is weird, wobbly and incomprehensible, but at the same time any negative aspects pass me by so that I just drift along thinking everything’s bound to be A-OK if only I could find my brain. And with that in mind, this eclectic ditty leaps to the forefront of my thoughts….!

.

Hehe, that’s a tune from my childhood and I suspect that I shall continue to find myself periodically singing it for the rest of my days! 😉

.

But essentially, and overall, the most important thing is to find yourself, find your drive, and keep your own life moving forward in any way that you can. Advice from others to those who have chronic health conditions is often along the lines of ‘just think positive’ without bearing in mind just exactly the array of counterbalancing issues that there are to contend with. Yes, we can be positive, but everyone has down moments, everyone is only human. And it’s that beautiful, rough raw spirit that deserves to get acknowledged. No-one should be viewed as any less a person for not being positive aaall the time. Better still to acknowledge the true strength and beauty of the characters in this world who keep going despite the negatives. Who find the will to take hold of that steering wheel and allow themselves the space to just be.

And with that in mind, I shall leave you with this…

.

x

2 thoughts on “My theme tune

  1. That blues riff almost made me shriek out loud. Gal next to me on the bus tried to stay calm in the face of my silently convulsing hysterics. I can absolutely hear it in my head. Especially the teabags & rain.

    I love what you say about not always being positive, and hanging onto the wheel anyway. This is why I get reclusive: I can’t always be nice — in fact, I can be really maddening. Not by choice. But I can choose the level of exposure to the outside world. xo

    • I’m grinning as I reply! I love the thought of sudden laughter erupting on the bus 😀

      The steering wheel is a funny old one for variety, it feels great when I’m sitting in a veritable tanker cab with all my research to hand and the feeling of knowledge and control for once. Then there’s the other extreme where I’m in some rickety old open-top thing, careening down a hill, hanging on for dear life with my legs streaming behind me! It always pays to hang onto that wheel, though. As long as I don’t run out of teabags I’m okay during the reclusive periods! And there’s always my beautiful friends on the internet, x

      Love ya, x

What do you think of this post? Elle and the Auto Gnome welcome feedback, x

